A year ago today I signed a book deal. So what’s it really been like?

img_9242

A year ago today I signed a book deal and the past 365 days have been a whirlwind of highs and lows; pride and anxiety; celebrations and tears. I tried to imagine so many times what it would be like to sign my name on the dotted line, how I might feel, what the process might be like. I couldn’t have been more wrong.

Emotions tumbled as I read THAT email at 7 am offering me a contract for three psychological thrillers. Euphoria was nudged aside by fear, did I have more than one book in me? What if I let my publishers down? Was I too old for a career change? A long chat followed with my commissioning editor Lydia Vassar-Smith, and to this day I still remember how I felt as I signed my name. Euphoric. Sick. Grateful. Afraid. I had no idea what publishing entailed and I was about to find out on a digital publisher’s schedule, which are known for being tough.

The publication date for my debut The Sister was set for 7th July 2016, less than five months away. In my naivety I’d envisaged spending those five months picnicking in fields, drinking champagne, and perhaps working on book two in-between long lunches and cream teas.

The reality was my edits came back straight away. My beautiful prose on the crisp white background was covered in red lines and comment bubbles. I made the first of many panicked phone calls to Lydia ‘I thought you liked my story?’ I gasped out in horror, convinced she had read it again and changed her mind. She assured me this was normal in the first round of edits and I tried not to cry/hang up/laugh hysterically as she explained she would work with me on the structural edits before I would be passed to a copy editor where it would happen all over again. The process could take weeks and in the meantime how was book two shaping up? This was when I stared longingly out of the window, bid goodbye to the outside world and pretty much my family, and got stuck in to making my lifelong dream a reality. When I first spoke to Lydia in February I didn’t realise how important it was that we got on. The author/editor relationship is very close and it’s important we shared the same vision for the book and I trusted the changes she wanted to make implicitly.

The edits for The Sister, although they felt huge at the time, were actually very light (when I compared them to The Gift later) which I was thankful for as this is the stage the fabulous Marketing Manager for Bookouture, Kim Nash, came in. Social media was something I’d occasionally dabbled in, blogging was something I already loved. Kim set up magazine and blog interviews and arranged for me to appear on local radio. Twitter has been an amazing support, not only for my books but I’ve met so many lovely people, some of whom I’ve now met in real life, and with a writer’s world being so isolated the interaction has been a real lifeline some days.the-sister

Soon weeks had flown by. I’d seen and fallen instantly in love with the cover for The Sister, the editing and proofreading were finished, I got to hold my paperbacks in my hand, listen to the audio version and see my debut go onto Amazon for pre-order. There were days to go before my story went out into the world but throughout the edits, the marketing, I hadn’t had much of a chance to work on The Gift and that has been a huge learning curve for me. The amount of time in a contract between books isn’t always writing time. When an author delivers a book it is far from finished and after talking things through with my family we made the decision to cancel our summer holiday so I could write every day. I was so grateful for the chance I had, I wanted to do everything possible to make my follow-up book as good as it could possibly be and I am lucky I had the understanding and support of my family to do this.

During the next few weeks, The Sister went to No.1, was nominated for The Goodreads Best Debut of 2016 and despite being released more than halfway through the year became the 6th biggest selling book on Amazon last year, it’s still in the UK top 100. The Gift was published in December 2016 and also hit the No. 1 spot and has currently spent over 10 weeks in the UK top 10. Both books are on the USA Today Bestseller’s list.

 

the-gift

There is much to celebrate and be grateful for but throughout this journey there has also been the inevitable ups and down of life to factor in. A family illness, a bereavement, the bittersweet feeling of finally being published and the one person I wanted to share this with no longer being with us. The stress of financial instability as I wasn’t able to carry on working and hit my deadlines. But there is an underlying excitement for the future. I now have the support of an amazing agent, Rory Scarfe of Furniss Lawton, and I’m very much enjoying writing my third book. I can’t wait to see what the next 12 months bring. I’m living the life I’ve always dreamed of and although it’s exhausting at times, I wouldn’t change a thing.

Big thanks to the team at Bookouture for taking a chance on an unknown author. I am eternally grateful.bookouture-web-logo-3

 

44 thoughts on “A year ago today I signed a book deal. So what’s it really been like?

  1. Oh wow, this was a fascinating and timely thing to read! I am about to sign a 2 book deal (romantic comedy) with Harper Collins Avon and I’m wondering what will happen!! I’ve a great agent and have met my editor and both are so supportive and encouraging but of course it’s going to be a steep learning curve. Congratulations on your well deserved success. x

  2. Congratulations! Gosh that year has flown, well for me anyway :0) but you have done all the hard work. Well done for seeing it through, you deserve all the praise and joy that you get…and then some xxx

  3. Really interesting reading about the process. Perhaps you wouldn’t want to put yourself through it again (!) but it would be fascinating to see a page from that first round of edits with the sort of changes that get suggested…

  4. Excellent Louise, and perfectly described. I can remember the first pristine copy of my manuscript coming back a sea of red, and wanting to find the nearest high cliff. 😀 Thankfully it was mainly overuse of commas, so I’m still here working on my third. Congratulations on your achievements.

  5. What a lovely post and reflection on what you’ve achieved to date. As someone who hopes to have a book published in the future my first thought on reading it was ‘oh crap!’ and contemplating how scary the process seemed but how worthwhile it is and the immense satisfaction you get at the end. Good luck with your books, am eagerly awaiting the third!

  6. Love your honesty of the publishing process. It is intimidating at first, and the main reason I made a decision not to take my writing in that direction. The stress of deadlines, edits, rewrites, along with publicity this and that was just too much for me. I admire those who are able to do it, though. I wish you all the success you deserve!

  7. Wow! This is really interesting – and fascinating for those of us longing to follow in your footsteps! That’s a tough schedule you were put on there, Louise – thank goodness you have such an understanding and wonderfully supportive family. Thanks for sharing your story and congratulations on your ongoing success

Constructive criticism appreciated

