Flash Fiction – Be careful what you wish for…

january-snowfall-nighttime

Image courtesy of Sarah Potter

 

When I was 6, Papa gave me a snow globe and I longed to be the princess inside, adored by my forever prince.

Be careful what you wish for Mama used to say.

From the outside looking in my life is perfect but I’m lost. Alone. Afraid. I rest my bruised face against the window, wondering what mood my husband will be in tonight, wondering where it all went wrong. What I did wrong.

I could leave. Be free. But where would I go?

Be careful what you wish for.

Instead, I paint a smile onto my lips.

 

I can’t believe it has been a year since I signed my book deal! I wrote a post you can read here on whether the reality has lived up to the dream.

‘Be careful what you wish for,’ was written for Friday Fictioneers. A weekly 100 word story challenge inspired by a photo prompt. You can read the other entries, or join in, over at host Rochelle’s blog here

 

60 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – Be careful what you wish for…

  1. Dear Louise,

    Be careful what you wish for indeed. I hope she’ll garner the strength and courage to leave before it’s too late. Well done as always.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    PS I’m totally engaged in The Sister.

  2. I really enjoyed the snow globe idea inspired by the photo prompt, and the shift in perspectives. How true it is to see things from the outside, and you don’t realize the whole story. You only have a glimpse at the world painted by the person projecting the image.

  3. Tragic tale, Louise – lives can look like fairy tales from the outside, but you never know what’s happening within. Thanks for the link to your previous post – I was worried when you linked it to ‘Careful what you wish for’! Loving your success and wish you so much more 🙂

Constructive criticism appreciated

