Flash Fiction – I’ll never tell

socs-badge-2015

 

I’ve made a horrible, horrible mistake, and the realisation there’s no going back stings sour at the back of my throat as I swallow down the lies I’m now forced to tell.
I want to scream, and sometimes I do, burying my face in my pillow and howling out my frustration.
Your key scrapes the lock and I plaster on a smile as we fall into our daily script. I ask you how your day was and listen intently as if it’s the most interesting thing I’ve ever heard. A semblance of normality, even though it won’t last. We both know what’s coming but nobody else would ever guess the horror that goes on behind these close doors, and how could they?
I’ll never tell.

 

Written for Linda G Hill’s Streams of Consciousness Saturday – write the first thing that springs to mind following a prompt and post – no editing allowed. This weeks prompt is real – use as it is or with a prefix or suffix.

These characters came to me so fully formed their story is definitely one I’ll be exploring further, they make even make my next novel… 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – I’ll never tell

Thanks so much for reading!