Flash Fiction – Shame on you

ted-t

Image courtesy of Ted Strutz

 

I’ve finished the copy edits on ‘The Sister.’ It’s gone to the typesetters and it’s nice to have a bit of breathing space to join in with this week’s Friday Fictioneers, guilt free. 

 

There’s a pounding on the front door.

‘Police.’

I’m in the bathroom, rigid with fear. Where can I hide it? My parents will be so ashamed.

Dad’s footsteps thud down the hallway, the front door creaks open.

‘We’ve a warrant.’

My heart thump-thump-thumps. They’ll find it.

Dad will kill me.

We wait outside the flat while drawers are pulled open, contents strewn.

‘We found this is in the kitchen.’ Plastic bags are held aloft.

‘That’s recreational,’ says Dad.

‘And this on top of the toilet cistern.’ My copy of Oliver Twist.

‘You’ve been….reading?’ Dad looks at me with disgust. ‘You’re no son of mine.’

 

 

Written for Friday Fictioneers. A 100 word story inspired by a photo prompt. Hop over to host Rochelle’s blog and read the other entries here

75 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – Shame on you

  1. Louise,

    I definitely didn’t see the last line coming. My mind was going to drugs or weapons or a bomb, but when I read Oliver Twist my insides did two things. One my stomach twisted at the thought of a parent disowning a child for reading and two anger coursed through me that it was illegal!

    I really enjoyed reading your story. I will say I held my breath until the last word. Great job!

    Ashley Danielle

  2. My first reaction was to burst out laughing at the last line… then I sobered up and realised that it was a horrible thing to be chastised for reading… Never crossed my mind that it would be illegal… till I read the comments!

  3. So that’s what life under a Trump administration looks like. 🙂

    Sorry, shouldn’t get political…lol. Nice story, Louise. Shades of Fahrenheit 451 and maybe Brave New World.

  4. Well done! The last two lines took me instantly back in time to Ray Bradbury’s book “Fahrenheit 451”, always a favorite of mine because I treasure books so much.

  5. What a great twist, didn’t see it coming. I chuckled at the ‘recreational use’ but then you poured that cold water over me, shocking! I can see this attitude developing, you only need to see some of the comments on social media… And I hope you’ll enjoy Fahrenheit 451, it’s one of my favs too. There’s also a film, that’s very good too.

  6. That’s no world I want to live in. A staggering number of people probably wouldn’t care though. It’s sad, really.

  7. Though it seems surreal that books may be classed as illegal, my mind traveled to the time when some books were burned and banned.
    Very gripping take on the picture, I enjoyed reading this.

  8. I very much enjoyed reading this because it threw me for some good ol’ loops near the end! Not to reiterate ALL of the previous comments here but man alive would it be scary to live in a world where books were banned! Talk about suspense fiction – great work, looking forward to reading more!

Constructive criticism appreciated

