Nowhere to run

from-amy-reese-2

Photo courtesy of Amy Reese

 

Taking a break from editing The Gift to check out this week’s photo prompt I thought it actually fit perfectly with a scene I’ve just written which takes place in a corridor at the top of a stairwell. Please excuse me for not writing something exclusively for FF this week, with my deadline fast looming things are a little fraught!

 

If I wasn’t so lost in thought I might have heard it. The opening of the communal door. A creaking of the stair. Footsteps creeping up behind me. But as it is, I am completely unaware that I’m not alone as I rummage through my bag for my keys until I inhale sharply in frustration, ready to huff out air, and I smell it.

Stale smoke.

And then it only takes a split second to feel the presence behind me. Breath hot and sour against my cheek. A scream builds inside my throat but there’s already a hand clamped over my mouth, fingers knotted in my hair.

 

The Gift will be published on December 16th in all formats and the Kindle version is available to preorder now via Amazon (UK) or Amazon (US).

Friday Fictioneers is a weekly flash fiction challenge hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields and you can read the other entries here.

 

 

69 thoughts on “Nowhere to run

  1. Reblogged this on EmmaTheLittleBookWorm and commented:
    As THE biggest Louise Jensen fan in the world I am beyond excited about this Flash Fiction post! It’s only a flipping extract from the hotly anticipated second book, The Gift!

    Book two is out on 16th December but Louise has added the pre-order links to this post.

    Thanks so much for sharing this with us! I’m so excited!!!

  2. Dear Louise,

    I completely understand. I took the same route this week for the same reason. It’s perfectly okay, in my opinion, to use Friday Fictioneers to promote your novels in this manner. Says she who has done it many times and will most likely do it again. 😉 Having said that, I’ll say that the tension was tangible and well built.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  3. Oh my lord! That’s a very tense snippet you’ve shared there, Louise. So few words and yet so nicely sinister too. Similar to that cinema angle they use, when you see the protagonist from behind, just knowing ‘something’ is going to jump out and get them. Cracking stuff. Good luck with the editing 🙂

Constructive criticism appreciated

