Soaring High #FlashFiction

Image courtesy of Douglas M. MacIlroy

 

I’m free and yet I’m not. Not in a cage but still trapped by bars of my own making, but they bring me comfort, these bars. They keep me safe. They stop me flying because if I were to flutter my wings where would I go? Who would I be? What’s to stop me falling? The world is so huge and I feel so small. So insignificant.

I screw my eyes up tight, blocking the voices telling me I can, my own telling me I can’t. I try. There’s a shift. A movement and then it happens. I’m rising, soaring, flying. Free.

 

How joyous I was when I saw this perfect prompt. This weekend I conquered a lifelong phobia of public speaking and appeared at the Althorp Literary Festival. You can read how I got on here and see the photos.

 Yesterday I had a great time on the radio chatting about Friday Fictioneers, the way it’s helped me tighten my writing and my love for the WordPress writing community. You can listen to that here.

 Soaring High was written for Friday Fictoneers. A weekly 100 word story challenge inspired by a photo prompt. Read the other entries and join in over at host Rochelle’s blog here.

 

 

 

48 thoughts on “Soaring High #FlashFiction

  1. A lovely take on the prompt Louise and hurray! Congrats! For overcoming such a terrible phobia. Well done you. I sympathise entirely, having been reduced to a ticking, tutting mess the one time I’ve read my own fiction aloud – and that was to only ten people! Well done you and congrats again

  2. what a delightful story. it reminds of my favorite quote of all time:

    whatever you can do or dream you can do, begin it
    for courage has genius, power, and magic in it.
    only engage and the mind grows heated.
    begin it and the task is half-completed.

    it’s from goethe just in case.

  3. Wow! Wonderfully written, Louise. Loved your story.💕
    Congrats on taming the fear. Happy to hear about the interview. Will check it out soon. Thanks for sharing the links.

  4. Super story. I’m glad you chose the upbeat ending. Thank you for the links. I was very interested in your radio interview, and especially that it was hypnotherapy that helped you. I had hypnotherapy for an anxiety disorder, and it was extremely effective. Congratulations on the public speaking!

  5. A very lovely story, Louise. I have acrophobia, the irrational fear of heights. But I went ahead and jumped off a plane. And yes, it was exhilarating. I could relate to your words. And what a lovely day you had at the Althorp Literary Festival. That library – I would love to be just in that library someday. Cheers, Varad.

  6. Nicely written piece. I felt it was building to a tragic end so the upbeat one was a pleasant surprise.

  7. Great flash! Love the way you used the picture to write about breaking free and overcoming hurdles. Glad you overcame yours! BTW I’m listening to Surrogate on audible this month 🙂

Constructive criticism appreciated

