Flash Fiction – Wonky Boots & Crumpled Sheets

Image courtesy of Kent Bonham

 

‘Because I straighten your boots when you sling them on the mat?’ She was crying.

‘It’s not just that. You’re endlessly plumping cushions. Making the bed as soon as I get up to make tea. You live your life by hospital corners and I can’t live like that.’

I didn’t look back once as I left.

Now, I throw open the door of my cold bedsit which doesn’t feel like home and kick off my boots. I hesitate. Bend down and place them neatly together. I sink down on the sofa. I don’t have any cushions. But I don’t have her.

 

Hurrah – this week I finished my structural edits. I was stunned & delighted The Surrogate reached the top 40 in the UK Amazon chart on preorders  3 months prior to publication. Thank you! You can read my ’15 stages you go through with a structural edit’ post here. I’ve also had an emotional week with a big change you can read about here

‘Wonky Boots & Crumpled Sheets’ was written for Friday Fictioneers. A 100 word weekly story challenge inspired by a photo prompt. Join in over at host Rochelle’s blog here. (For all my US friends who might not understand the connection the first thing I noticed was the car boot which I think you call a trunk over there?)

38 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – Wonky Boots & Crumpled Sheets

  1. Ooh, that’s alovely little nugget that. A detail so heartbreaking, so truthful. All those things that drive you crazy make up what it is to have a relationship, something real and solid and yours. Lose it all at your peril.
    Wonderful stuuf Louise

  2. Things that are cute but a little annoying in the beginning become such huge issues when the rest is not so fabulous…
    And then… it wasn’t so bad after all, was it?
    Congrats!! Looking forward to reading it!

  3. I see people read it as a husband leaving his wife. I read it as a young person leaving home. I particularly like the way the piece opens with the response to an unasked question. That’s very effective. Congratulations on your success too.

  4. Dear Louise,

    Congrats on the Surrogate. As for connection to the prompt, I never worry. The photo’s there, the story’s good. Meets my ‘requirements’. 😉

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  5. Ahhh … we all have our traits when we get married or live with someone. It’s the strength of getting passed them that helps keep people together. I’m sure there’s some missing going in. Nicely written, Louise. Grabd the bar with two hands. It looks like you’re on the ride of your life. ENJOY …. CONGRATULATIONS !!!! Bravo …
    Isadora 😎

Constructive criticism appreciated

