Half a million copies sold and THIS was my first thought…

This morning, I was thrilled to receive a call from my lovely editor who told me The Sister has officially sold half a million copies. Bizarrely (or not if you know me) my first thought was ‘Grace and Charlie will be SO pleased.’ Yes, even now when I’m writing my third book I haven’t quite yet come to terms with the fact my beloved characters in my debut aren’t real. I am enormously proud of them and their story.

When I first wrote a snippet of flash fiction it took days of deliberation before I felt brave enough to try to expand it into my first ever short story. Once I started writing I couldn’t stop but even as it grew into the 90k word novel it is today I never once thought it would be published. I was too old. Too inexperienced. Too scared to try if I’m honest but my love for Grace, my desire for her story to be heard drove me forwards, and I am so fortunate I found a publisher, Bookouture, who shared the same passion for my story. I feel humbled so many readers have given their valuable time reading my first novel, and am hugely grateful for the book bloggers who have championed The Sister from the start. Your support has meant the world to me. Thank you from the bottom of my heart ❤️

“I did something terrible Grace. I hope you can forgive me …”

Grace hasn’t been the same since the death of her best friend Charlie. She is haunted by Charlie’s last words, and in a bid for answers, opens an old memory box of Charlie’s. It soon becomes clear there was a lot she didn’t know about her best friend.

When Grace starts a campaign to find Charlie’s father, Anna, a girl claiming to be Charlie’s sister steps forward. For Grace, finding Anna is like finding a new family, and soon Anna has made herself very comfortable in Grace and boyfriend Dan’s home.

But something isn’t right. Things disappear, Dan’s acting strangely and Grace is sure that someone is following her. Is it all in Grace’s mind? Or as she gets closer to discovering the truth about both Charlie and Anna, is Grace in terrible danger?

There was nothing she could have done to save Charlie …or was there?

You can find The Sister on Amazon UK here, or Amazon US here.

31 thoughts on “Half a million copies sold and THIS was my first thought…

  1. That’s brilliant, Louise. I know I’ve been very tired recently, so haven’t taken everything in when I’ve been in conversation with people. But did you actually tell me this yesterday, because I really don’t remember and we should have celebrated (even if the options open to us were somewhat limited).

  2. That is an amazing accomplishment. Congrats. I get happy when one book sells, I can’t imagine what it must feel like to have sold that many. Again, congrats.

Constructive criticism appreciated

