My New Year Writing Resolution

thisyearwall

This morning I was delighted to receive my issue of Newbooks Magazine featuring Writing Resolutions from a group of authors, including myself. Our very own Claire Fuller features on the cover of the winter issue, who has been an enormous inspiration to me since I joined the blogging community.

When I was asked to take part in this feature I didn’t have to think for too long before coming up with my list. The first thing I wanted to do was to STOP  setting myself targets. Over the past couple of years I have learned that working around a family and a chronic health condition means that there will be days I get lots of words down, and days that I don’t get any words down and that’s okay.  In the past I have been quite hard on myself, aiming for a daily word count, and this isn’t always achievable or realistic. There was a point when I was writing, I spent so much time checking my word count I ended up turning it off and only then could I relax and tell the story I wanted to tell without worrying it was too long or too short. That’s easily sorted out in the editing stage.


The second point I made was vowing to read in as many different genres as I can. I had fallen into reading within my own genre, with a critical eye, and I couldn’t remember the last book I read for pleasure. There is nothing quite like curling up with a book, and I decided to make a conscious divide by reading on the Kindle for work, and buying paperbacks from my local bookshop to read for fun. I have already made a head start on this one by reading ‘The Return of Norah Wells‘ by Virginia MacGregor and ‘The boy made of blocks‘ by Keith Stuart (both authors are also featured in NewBooks Magazine this month). I can’t tell you how much I ADORED both of these stories.

I also want to donate some time to mentoring fledgling writers this year. At the early stages of writing The Sister I was mentored by Louise Walters via The WoMentoring Project for a few weeks and it really did make an enormous difference to me. I am a great believer in paying it forward and I’ve already volunteered my services.

Are you making any writing resolutions this year? I’d love to know what they are.

Constructive criticism appreciated

