Flash Fiction – The Grass is Always Greener

ceayr3

Image courtesy of Ceayr

 

The noise builds and builds, horns blare, insults are traded. I sit in the traffic jam, my shoulders tight with tension, wishing there was just one second of silence in the city.

Birds tweet and a tractor thrums in the nearby field. The countryside is so quiet. So still. I live in the most boring place on earth.

I wonder where I’ll go tonight, another bar full of faceless strangers who don’t care.

I fancy a drink later but I’m sick of the local where everyone knows my business.

I’m going to move to the city.

I’m going to move to the country.

 

 

‘The Grass is Always Greener’ was written for Friday Fictioneers. A weekly 100 word story challenge inspired by a photo prompt. Hop over to host Rochelle’s blog to read the other entries or join in!

51 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – The Grass is Always Greener

  1. How interesting to see just what the results would be. I grew up in the country and I wouldn’t have it any other way. Fresh air, trees, open spaces … but not too far from civilization. 😉

    Wonderful contrasting characters, Louise!

  2. All too often In was the one sitting on traffic with shoulders tight with tension. Nice contact in the two wishful voices.

  3. I love both the city and the country, though I live in the 2nd now. Having spent the past few weeks in downtown Tel Aviv, I know I’ll miss the buzz, when I go home. I’ll miss the walking and people watching. But, the quiet… I’m looking forward to that. Like the way you captured both here, Louise.

Constructive criticism appreciated

