2016 – The year my story found a home

bfc174_9c6a4592f91545eb87e1de61d97d8199

Featured Image -- 1614

I am absolutely delighted that within a week of its release my second novel, The Gift has reached No.1 on Amazon both in the UK and Canada, is No.2 on iBooks and is in the top 10 for psychological thrillers in the US. I want to thank everyone so much for all their support. the blogging community is phenomenal and I feel so privileged to be part of it.

It hasn’t been an easy journey to publication. This time last year I was constantly refreshing my emails, waiting for responses to my submissions, and I had that sinking ‘it will never happen for me’ feeling in the pit of my stomach as I read yet another ‘thanks but no thanks’ response. Each and every rejection knocked my confidence further and there were many times I questioned whether I should send out another query. Whether I was wasting my time. I was now in my 40’s and I still hadn’t managed any success at all. Was it too late?

img_0369Receiving an offer last January was such an incredible feeling, My story, The Sister, had found a home. I never dreamed that within a year I would have published two novels, both would reach No.1 around the world, I would sell over half a million books in my first five months as a published author and 10 countries would buy the translation rights. I had to pinch myself again when The Sister was nominated for The Goodreads Debut of 2016 Award.

It’s so easy, as a writer, to let the doubts creep in, to wonder if it is worth it, to wonder whether to keep on going. For years I have championed other authors, celebrated their successes, been a shoulder during their lows and pretty much resigned myself to never seeing my name on a cover but still I wrote. I just couldn’t stop.

Whatever stage you are at with your manuscript, never give up. You never know what is just around the corner.

Wishing you all a happy and healthy 2017,

13 thoughts on “2016 – The year my story found a home

  1. 2016 was a fantastic year for you 🙂 I am happy to be among the very many lucky people who have been transported by your stories. Here’s to an equally wonderful 2017!

  2. Louise, I am beyond thrilled for you and YOU inspire me to really keep trying with my own work! I have enjoyed your work for a long time, and how wonderful to see you reaping the rewards you worked so hard for! Continued success in 2017! xo

Constructive criticism appreciated

