Flash Fiction – Don’t go!

horses-in-snow

Image © Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

 

I swallow back hot tears as you stomp down the path, rucksack on your back. My fingers furl and unfurl as I wait for you to turn, to flash me a smile and tell me of course you’re not leaving, but the gate crashes shut and you’re gone.

My breath catches in my throat, and throwing open the front door I run, my slippered feet slip-sliding through the snow.

‘Wait!’

You turn looking younger than your eight years.

‘You can have spaghetti hoops for tea.’ I proffer my hand and you slip your small one in mine.

‘Sorry, mum,’ you mumble.

 

Yesterday I was delighted to find out my debut, ‘The Sister‘ was ranked the 25th best selling ebook across Amazon for 2016 so a huge thank you to all who bought, reviewed and recommended. With my second novel, The Gift being published on Friday the celebrations will continue for a good few days yet!

‘Don’t Go’ was written for Friday Fictioneers – A weekly 100 word story challenge inspired by a photo prompt. Hosted by Rochelle, you can read the other entries at her blog here

 

45 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – Don’t go!

  1. Enjoyed the perspective on this one. Don’t often read stories on here where the reader is the subject i.e. the reader takes the place of “you/your”….well to me it does 🙂

  2. Nice one. I once told my Dad I was leaving when I was about 5 years old. He said “You’ll be back.” I said “Why do you think that?” “Because you’ll be hungry by the time you get to the main road.” I considered this and decided he was right, so stayed.

Constructive criticism appreciated

