Flash Fiction – Falling through clouds

lucy-sol

Image courtesy of Lucy Fridkin 

 

I am twisting, turning, falling through clouds. Stretching out my hand for you, but you’re not there. You’re never there.

In my dream I was crying and when I wake my cheeks are wet, my tongue tasting tears and despair.

The floorboards are cold against my feet as I pad into the kitchen. I sit at the table, picking at the breakfast my grieving stomach can’t eat, my eyes drawn to your empty chair.

Outside the window the sky turns from mauve, to amber, to its usual self-conscious blue as the sun burns as hot and bright as the hole you left.

 

A rather more reflective piece this week, as the world excitedly gets ready for Christmas some of us aren’t quite ready to celebrate….

Falling through clouds was written for Friday Fictioneers. A 100 word story inspired by a photo prompt. You can read the other entries on host Rochelle’s blog, here.  

49 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – Falling through clouds

  1. This felt to be written with real feeling. You remind me / us that for some people the festivities of Christmas time can be so hard.

  2. Love lost can leave an aching hole in the heart which reopens during joyous times like these holidays.
    Love lost can come from where including children, friends, family or lovers. I could identify with the hole.
    Touchingly told.
    Isadora 😎

  3. Wow! So sad, Louise. I like how the words rhyme at the end of the first three paragraphs. Sure, it’s not a fun time of year for someone who’s lost a loved one and you captured the feelings wonderfully.
    May you receive those “good tidings of great joy” in your life this year.
    Merry Christmas! 🙂

Constructive criticism appreciated

