Flash Fiction – Flying High

img_0346

PHOTO PROMPT © Jan Wayne Fields

 

The chill penetrated my bones as I’d spooned barely warm beans into my mouth. You’d reassured me one day your business would fly, and so would we, to somewhere with brilliant blue skies and golden sand.

Later, the rain pitter-pattered and we’d huddled in our sleeping bag and as your fingers slid under my layers of clothes I forgot I hated camping, my head was full of you, only you.

Today you drop off our kids, bronzed from the Florida sun, and climb into your sports car, kissing your girlfriend hard on the lips and I wonder whether you miss those days where we had nothing but each other. I wonder if you miss me.

 

I am horribly late to late to the party this week. Less than 2 weeks until publication of The Gift and I have been busy checking the typeset files and doing the final proofread. I will read as many stories as I can this week but sorry if I don’t get around to them all. Normal service will be resumed soon! 

Fluing High was written for Friday Fictioneers. A 100 word story inspired by a photo prompt. Hope over to host Rochelle’s blog and read the other entries here. 

21 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – Flying High

  1. The description of the camping is so vivid, I feel like I’m there. And the rest is so sadly true in too many cases. Maybe eventually he’ll miss her. But then she’ll have moved on, I hope. Beautifully written and congrats on the soon-to-come publication, Luise.

  2. What a nasty chap. Finally makes a fortune and runs off with someone else. Sadness, regret, maybe a touch of bitterness in the last couple of lines (well, I’d be feeling somewhat bitter!).

  3. Dear Louise,

    Such a tragic piece, filled with loss and longing. Better late than never. I understand about proofing and publishing. As One Must, One Can will be released the 10th. At any rate, well written story.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  4. Amazing how we go from adventurous in love to forgetting the good times in adversity and changing to something a little more “convenient.” Good job, Louise!

  5. I read this as being about someone who was unable to let go of the past and move on. But I did feel sad for her.

  6. A great but sad twist at the end, Louise. This happens far too often. It sounds like he’s rubbing his success in at her expense. He may be a success in his work but he’s a mess as a human being. Good writing as always. All the best with your new book. 🙂 — Suzanne

Constructive criticism appreciated

