Waiting for reviews – does it get easier?

10-pictures-of-stressed-out-women-free-cliparts-that-you-can-download-ogiwmn-clipart

After months and months of writing The Gift this morning it all came to an end. I signed off on the typesetting files, and at lunchtime it was uploaded to Netgalley and sent out to book reviewers, and it will be officially published in just two weeks.

It seems far longer than five months ago I was waiting anxiously for the first reviews to come in for The Sister, my debut novel, but I still remember that anxious feeling in the pit of my stomach as thoughts rushed in at me from all directions, and none of them were good. ‘What if no one likes it?’

sistergift-1-spell-error-corrected

With the second novel. I had hoped the process would be easier, but I find myself restless again, unable to settle.

As I look around I see a pile of laundry, books waiting to be read, admin to be caught up on, but I cannot concentrate. Instead I wait and I think about the highs and lows of becoming an author, and despite the gnawing anticipation, the nagging feeling that my second book might not be as well received as my first, I think about how lucky I am. Finally published. I am so glad I never gave up on my dream.

19 thoughts on “Waiting for reviews – does it get easier?

  1. We spend months, sometimes years, creating our books and putting our thoughts and emotions into them so of course we care what other people think of them. I imagine parents sending children to school and hoping they make friends feel a liitle like authors sending their work out to editors, publishers and readers.

  2. You are several steps ahead of me in this process. I just passed the 72,000 word mark on a project I started in concert with NaNoWriMo2016 and I want to finish it so I can edit and shop it to agents and publishers. If you have advice to share I am all ears.

    • That’s brilliant Joe. Really good word count. I think the best advice I could probably give it don’t send it off before it’s ready. It’s easy to get carried away and want to submit but you generally only get one shot with each manuscript with the agents and publishers so take your time and get it right. Wishing you lots of luck.

  3. SO excited for you Louise! You’ll knock this one out of the park too! It’s small potatoes, in comparison, but I know that having had some success on HuffPo, has really set me back on my own blog. The pressure from one bigger success can be daunting, when dealing with the task of just moving forward with another. But, you’ve written the book, you’ve put it out there, now take a deep breath and read a book! πŸ™‚

Constructive criticism appreciated

