Flash Fiction – Rise & Fall

georgia-koch

Image Copyright – Georgia Koch

 

‘How could you? Again?’ I step back, away from the scent of another woman’s perfume.

‘It didn’t mean…’ you stretch out your hand. I slap it away.

‘Get out.’

‘You’ll come crawling back.’ Your lips that have kissed me a thousand times twist into a sneer.

Nausea swells. Bile stings the back of my throat. I run to the bathroom, kneel on the cold tiles and clutch the toilet pan.

The smell of daffodils drifts through the open window. Spring. A new beginning.

I place my hand on my stomach. Feel the rise and fall. A new life.

I’ll take care of us both.

 

I wanted to say a massive thank you to everyone who has reviewed The Sister. I’m stunned my debut novel now has over 1400 4 & 5🌟 ratings in the UK and the US and I’m hugely grateful to everyone who taken the time to post a review. 

Rise and Fall was written for Friday Fictioneers. A 100 words story inspired by a photo prompt. Hop over to host Rochelle’s blog and read the other entries here

41 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – Rise & Fall

  1. Congratulations on getting so many reviews! It is well-deserved 🙂 I am grateful I got the chance to read and leave my thoughts about it.
    Such a powerful story, an end and a beginning, the never-ending circle of life. Loved it!

  2. A very powerful story with few words! Good for her for being strong and looking ahead! Their life will be better without him.
    Congratulations on all the reviews! 😊

    • Hello! The first thing I thought of when I saw the photo was sea sickness so I knew I wanted to include nausea in my story. I also thought about the rise and fall of the waves, and the rise and fall of life. How we can be so happy one minute, desperate the next and then things turn around. Always there’s a new beginning. A new life.

  3. Beautifully done, Louise, swinging from despair to hope in so few words. I love your clever symbolism of the boat, and the possibility it could be carrying her away to a new life. Great stuff. And congrats on your reviews – you go from strength to strength 🙂

  4. Sadly, there are men who betray and sneer like this, thinking there is nothing wrong with their behaviour and that the woman will always come running. I’m glad she has the strength to look forwards.

  5. I read Bjorn’s comment and agree it’s so interesting that your story starts and ends with a beginning. It’s kind of cyclical and all in the name of a new life. Well done, Louise! Oh, I plan to add to your review number! A massive congrats to you!! xox

Constructive criticism appreciated

