Flash Fiction – Strike a Pose

adamickes-boardwalk

Image courtesy of Adam Ickes.

 

Look at the size of her waist!

The lights are hot, bright. These heels impossibly high. I twisted my ankle in rehearsal and the pain is sharp with each and every step.

There’s not an ounce of fat on her!

Turn. Hands on hips, bones digging into my palms. The applause rings hard in my ears. A thin film of sweat coats my body. I scan the room. It smells of money, expensive perfume and admiration. I’m exhausted. Dizzy. Sick.

I’d give anything to look like that!

My vision tunnels. When was the last time I ate?

She’s living the dream!

 

 

I’m absolutely delighted The Sister is still No. 1 in the Amazon UK Kindle charts. This week Amazon are featuring The Sister as their Paperback of the Week so if you fancy a physical copy it’s half price for the next few days. 

 

‘Strike a Pose’ was written for Friday Fictioneers. A 100 word story inspired by a photo prompt. Read the other entries over at host Rochelle’s blog and please join in! The more the merrier.

 

 

 

 

 

59 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – Strike a Pose

  1. I love this Louise. It’s very thought provoking and very true that a models ‘perfect life’ is not always as it seems. I will have a look at Rochelle’s blog and join in.

  2. Great piece, I liked the 2 competing voices between reality and desire. Great interpretation from the prompt too. Iain

  3. This made me think of a pole dancer, and the hardship such a job carries. Great imagery, and as Neil says sharply defined.

  4. Great, sparse writing Louise. A few lines and we see the contrast between the perceived glamour and the brutal reality. It’s a depressing and harmful profession in many ways.
    Well done on your continued success. I confess I haven’t read The Sister yet, but a fellow blogger was raving to me about it, saying how wonderfully readable it was, so it’s only a matter of time. 🙂

  5. What I like about your stuff (that is, the stuff I’ve read so far) is that you don’t take the picture at face value and tell a story about it. Instead, you craft a tale based on the feeling the image conveys. It’s unique and interesting.

  6. Captured in 100 words what Selma Hayek tried to communicate in the TV series Ugly Betty!

    Anyway, I remember hearing in youth group a story of two sisters, one was more in line with societal beauty standards and envied by her sister. The envying sister later learned that the beautiful one also envied her sister because she had to determine who loved her for her and who loved her for her looks.

  7. I like what you did with this, Louise. It vividly shows the reality versus the dream people have in their minds. I read where some models eat paper to fill their stomachs and not gain weight. Sometimes it’s not a pretty picture. Congratulations on the continued success of your book. 🙂 — Suzanne

Constructive criticism appreciated

