Flash Fiction – Abandoned

photo-88

Image courtesy of Janet Webb

 

‘You will always be my baby,’ whispers the woman I thought to be my real mum. In her eyes, my own pain is reflected back at me.

‘Why did she abandon me?’

She hands me a cream envelope, a name I don’t recognise scrawled on the front in looping script.

‘Who is Eleanor?’

‘That was your birth name. Before…’

I turn the letter over in my hands. It is heavy. Weighted down with words I don’t feel ready to hear.

‘Can I still call you mum?’ My voice is small.

‘Always.’ She hugs me tight – vanilla and coffee – she still smells like home.

 

It’s been a crazy week. The Sister is still no.1 on the UK Amazon Store, and has also been no.1 on Amazon Canada and iBooks and is in the top 10 on the USA Today Bestsellers List. I’m so thankful for all the support I’ve received and especially grateful for the WordPress blogging community. A sanctuary where I can step away from the madness that is editing and scribble a few words.

Abandoned was written for Friday Fictioneers – a 100 word story inspired by a photo prompt. Hop over to host Rochelle’s blog and read the other entries here.

53 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – Abandoned

  1. A sad and touching tale. Such a hard thing to discover, so difficult to handle. I’ve known a few people who were adopted and it’s always played a major part in their psyche. Nicely, touchingly written.
    Very well done for your ongoing success. Lovely to hear and long may it continue. 🙂

  2. Congratulations on your book. This story is well written and certainly has one feeling the emotions of mother and daughter as they read the story. Children are always affected when they learn that they have been given up by their real mother and the way this news is received is very important. I enjoyed reading this.

  3. Beautiful. Adoption in my family is very close to my heart. On my mom’s side, my cousin, Eldon, was adopted — then my aunt and uncle had two daughters after! Haha! Jane has her own kids, but Mary Kay and her husband adopted three older girls. After that, Mary Kay got pregnant and now they have FOUR daughters. I said, “You’re taking after Aunt Janice [her mom], aren’t you?” What a joy! Those kids have the best parents.

    All in all, though, a wonderful and heartfelt story. Sweet, Louise, very sweet.

    And thank-you.

  4. Nice one! Reminds me very much of your novel–good emotional weight. I’ve got my mom reading The Sister now, and she told me today that she’s loving it! Congratulations on your success–well deserved!

  5. Pingback: Taking Stock: August 2016 | The Day After

Constructive criticism appreciated

