Reaching No.1 – Champagne and Grief

Heart-Love-Sky-Hands-Silhouette__1920x1200

 

Today has been a day for celebration and contemplation.

The second I heard the news The Sister was Number One on Amazon UK I felt a rush of exhilaration flooding my veins. I automatically reached for my phone to share my news and was hit by a fresh wave of grief as I remembered the person I most want to share with is no longer here. But for those few seconds, everything was right in my world once more, and the crushing reminder that it isn’t and can never be the same again, brought a flood of tears. I was crying for what I have lost. Crying for the support my book has received. Crying with gratitude I have the love of my family and friends.

I am not sure if it will always be this way, the underlying sadness that’s always there, spiking as something good happens, or whether that will gradually lessen. No matter how much time passes I tell myself it’s early days in the grieving process. Perhaps it will always feel like early days.

Tonight I shall go out to celebrate, for I know my chart position is something to celebrate, but today I write, for what else can I do? I will always have the comfort of words to blanket myself with and for that I am truly thankful.

Big thanks to everyone who has bought, read, shared and reviewed The Sister. It means such a lot to me.

sister

 

14 thoughts on “Reaching No.1 – Champagne and Grief

  1. Congratulations! I’m halfway through The Sister at the moment and am hooked, it’s near impossible to put down. I’m sorry that yesterday was so bittersweet – I lost my mum seven years ago and I still wish I could share things with her but the pain and sadness of not being able to does ease with time. I find it helps me to have something of hers with me on special days – a piece of jewellery etc. x

  2. Just finished reading this novel. The fastest I have ever read a book! Was hooked from the first page! Fantastic twists! Already urging my friends to read it.

  3. Bought and read your book in one day. I loved it! I’ve been fortunate to have a best friend since the age of 2 and reading about Grace and Charlie brought back wonderful memories. I’m also love thrillers so your book, Sister, kept me captivated from start to finish.
    I also want to tell you how sorry I am on the loss of your mother. I lost mine 31 years ago when I was 26 years old. Yes, the early days are tough, and there will always be days when you will miss her . She’s forever in your heart, forever in your memories. I’m sure she is so proud of you!

    • Thanks Luanne. I’m so pleased you enjoyed reading The Sister. I very much wanted it to be a book about friendship. I have lost my dad but my mum is very much here. Thanks for taking the time to comment. It’s much appreciated.

Constructive criticism appreciated

