Flash Fiction – Forever Blue

the-boat-and-miss-liberty

PHOTO PROMPT- Copyright – Jan Wayne Fields

 

It’s him again. He wades into the sea. My breath quickens and longing heats my skin even though the water is cool. He’s watching me. I adjust my bikini top and lick my lips, tasting salt and desire.

He’s been here every day this week. I thrust out my chest, smile and beckon and as he swims towards me, I gently retreat, until the beach is a pinprick and we’re swallowed up by blue.

He’s here. I trail my fingers down his cheekbone, kiss his mouth softly and swish my tail as hard as I can. His face floods with confusion and fear. He’s beautiful. He’s mine.

 

Written for Friday Fictioneers – a 100 word story inspired by a photo prompt. Read the other entries here over at Rochelle’s blog – here.

41 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – Forever Blue

  1. I don’t often see the endings coming, but for some reason I saw this one. I agree with Mick that it’s different, yet there’s also something incredibly erotic about the idea of mermaids.

Constructive criticism appreciated

