My first publication day! (Hangovers & Scones)

Waking yesterday, on my first ever publication day, I was filled with a mixture of excitement and apprehension. Releasing The Sister into the world was a similar feeling to taking my children to their very first day at school. Would people be kind? Would they be laughed at? Would they be accepted? Would they be ignored?

My day kicked off with breakfast in bed, flowers and an utterly gorgeous bookish charm bracelet from my husband.

IMG_7838 IMG_7840

 

As I munched toast I worked my way through a flurry of social media messages. The support from readers and writers was overwhelming and I began to relax, until I remembered I was due to appear live on BBC Radio Northampton’s breakfast show. Public speaking has always been a massive fear of mine and although I was told to just view this as a conversation with a friend, my stomach churned all the way to the studio. Thankfully my mouth didn’t dry, and I summoned some words from somewhere and the whole thing only took about ten minutes. You can listen here (from 1:43).

Cream tea next, before returning home to take part in a live Q&A over at the Crime Book Club on Facebook which was hugely enjoyable. Then it was time to crack open a bottle!

IMG_7850 IMG_7842

I’ve been overwhelmed by the reaction to The Sister and waking this morning, slightly hung over, to find a message from my publisher that my book is currently no. 14 in the UK digital chart, no. 5 in Canada and no. 25 in the US has left me reeling and far too excited to focus on anything today.

Everyone who knows me understands what a difficult journey I’ve had to get here, and I am so grateful for all the support I’ve received along the way. A HUGE thank you to everyone who supported, shared, bought and reviewed The Sister. ❤️

9 thoughts on “My first publication day! (Hangovers & Scones)

  1. Congratulations again! That sounds like a fab day. I had an email from Amazon on the day to say my preorder of The Sister was now ready so as soon as I finish my current book I’ll be diving right in! Big love to you x

Constructive criticism appreciated

