How authors REALLY celebrate publication day!

image

 

I am ridiculously excited that after months of writing and editing in five days The Sister will be released and I’ll achieve my lifelong dream of being an author. Five days!!

A couple of days after publication I have planned a small launch. A chance to thank family and friends for their support and, of course, eat cake.

On publication day itself I’ll be live on local radio in the morning and I will be over at the Crime Book Club on Facebook answering a live question and answer session between 6.30pm-8.00. I can’t think of a better way to spend my launch day than with readers. Please do come over and join the group if you haven’t already. I also hope to sneak in a cream tea at some stage. Any excuse for a scone.

Being inquisitive (ok, nosy) I couldn’t help quizzing a few authors on how they choose to spend their publication days and their answers were both touching, and a little shocking – Angela Marsons and Caroline Mitchell I’m looking at you!

 

Champagne-glasses

 

For my first book I had a party on the night of publication at my house with drinks & nibbles and read an extract from The Poet’s Wife. This time round because of my ‪#WonderfulWomen‪ hashtag (well not exactly because of it, but it fit well) I got together a group of lovely women here in Nairobi for lunch to celebrate my novel, female strength & solidarity. Rebecca Stonehill

 

For my first novel, I held a virtual launch party on Twitter and Facebook with giveaways, exclusive extracts, Q&A with me and my editor etc. At home, I usually sit in the garden with a glass of Bucks Fizz then run inside when it starts peeing it down…! I don’t tend to hold physical celebrations / parties but am thinking about it this year. Tracy Buchanan 

 

For my first one I allowed myself the whole day to doss around on social media just enjoying the buzz and responding to tweets and messages and reviews. Later there was some kind of twitter party where we hijacked a tour bus and everything. I remember something about Caroline Mitchell and a dancing pole but it was very, very late!! Angela Marsons 

 

For my first novel ‘The Girl with Emerald Eyes’ – I held a party in a little art gallery in London and invited all my friends. I had copies of the book there and signed them for anyone who wanted one. We had drinks and nibbles and I gave a little speech. I had waited so long to get the novel published and it was a very special day for me. Debbie Rix

Gluten-Free-and-Egg-Free-Chocolate-Cake 

I always celebrate the same way. A bottle of champers, with a helping of take away fish and chips. Caroline Mitchell

 

I love cooking, so cook a special dinner and celebrate with my family, keep my fingers crossed and hope for the best. Renita D’Silva

 

For my first book I invited some friends around for champagne and nibbles then I took my husband out for a special dinner to say thank you for all the patience, support and BELIEF on my long road to publication. My second book launch was on a bank holiday weekend…a lot of people were away or busy so I decided against a ‘do’ and toasted the lovely reviews and rankings with champagne and dinner at our gorgeous village pub. Teresa Driscoll

images 

I went to the printers at Clays in Suffolk to see my first book, The School Gate Survival Guide, coming off the presses. I went with my Dad who used to run a printing firm and he loved seeing how much technology had moved on. They treated us like royalty. When they pressed a button, the whole factory turned into a sea of red covers, thousands of copies in all stages of production. My dad was so proud and I was so touched to see that. Kerry Fisher

 

I think my first one was spent doing pretty much normal stuff, which was very dull, but the kids and work kept me too busy to do much else! I might have had chip shop chips for tea, and that’s about as exciting as it got! Sharon Sant

 

My very first book Mini Skirts and Laughter lines was self-published and I spent all day (24 hours) hosting a blog party that was amazing fun. I had “rooms” instead of pages and hosted a best Mini Skirt competition and funniest joke for Laughter Lines in another “room” and had a chat room that went down really well. I had over 15,000 hits for that day the most I have ever had. It took me a month to prepare the party but it was worth it. Nowadays I have less energy so I don’t hang about online as much and of course, Mr Grumpy insists I do normal stuff because he doesn’t think launch days are exciting so I have to fit in housework and cooking! Carol E. Wyer

 hardbacks

Thanks so much for sharing. Have you had anything published? How did you celebrate?

 

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “How authors REALLY celebrate publication day!

  1. What a lovely post! When my first novel, Invisible, was published, I didn’t do anything. I was so horribly nervous, and so convinced that I would only have six sales (from my immediate family, of course) so it felt as if a party would be a big fanfare for no reason! Thank goodness I was proved wrong – phew!

  2. I was totally overwhelmed when my first book was published last year… I’d finally achieved it, but what if no-one wanted to buy it? My best friend rang and I cried down the phone to her… Luckily she understood but also told me what a fantastic achievement it was… Then my husband came home with champagne and all was well with the world!

  3. Boxloads of Silencio paperbacks arrived at my home in February even though the official publication date is 28 July 2016. After years of writing and editing, the excitement of holding my thriller novel helped me to forget the struggles and with my daughter and son-in-law to be, I visited a local wine bar and indulged in 2 Margaritas. The hangover was worth it. Enjoy your moment.

  4. I just read Jo’s review on My Chestnut Reading Tree and loved the sound of your book. Great premise, hooked and lovely cover. Wishing you best of luck on your launch…this one I’m intending to read soon. Happy Celebrating!

  5. Seems like you’ve had a busy day, Louise. Listened to the interview a short while ago – thought it went well. I’m sure you’re relaxing now and winding down. Need to start planning my book launch… Oh, wait a minute, need to finish writing it first

      • Not that I can recall (it seems like such a long time ago now), but I suppose I could have a relaunch when I get hard copies done.
        Incidentally, I noticed you said in your interview something about not liking thrillers and violence. If that’s the case, you may not enjoy Ravens Gathering – it’s not full of violence, but there’s some in there, and I have been told by some people that it gave them the creeps. (Or was it me that gave them the creeps? One of the two.)

Constructive criticism appreciated

