Flash Fiction – The Lake

ice-on-the-window

Image Copyright – Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

 

The amber sun reflects in water that shimmers green, blue and grey. I swipe clouds of midges away from my strawberry ice-cream. It was always your favourite flavour.

We used to come here Ella, do you remember? Your small fingers curled around mine. Autumn was always the best. Booted feet stamping through piles of red-gold leaves. Tossing stales crusts at the snapping ducks.

If I close my eyes I can almost hear your giggle, as you swung like a monkey between your mum and me. I wish you’d understand it was her I left, not you.

I miss you.

 

It’s been such a relief this week to finally hear the audio version of The Sister. I’d been dreading listening to my story read aloud and you can find out why here.

The Lake was written for Friday Fictioneers. A 100 word story inspired by a photo prompt. Hop over to host Rochelle’s blog and read the other entries here

 

 

 

 

 

52 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – The Lake

  1. Sometimes people never truly reconnect with a separated parent, but your narrator sounds as if he wants to try to build bridges. Heartbreakingly told and I love the details – ice cream, midges, stamping in leaves – makes the whole thing come to life.
    Lovely take on the prompt.

  2. Breakups are rough, especially when children aren’t directly involved. The guilt that guy must be feeling!

    Stellar, Louise, positively wonderful!

    By the way, what are “midges?”

  3. I think there’s hope for this dad and the child. The love comes through so clearly with the details in the memories. These are things the child can relate to, not something abstract. Lovely story.

  4. A sad situation, but a least the dad wants to keep in touch with his daughter. Hopefully, she’ll understand when she’s older. Good story, Louise. I saw your book as a new July release in the Mystery & Thriller section of Goodreads. That’s great. Congratulations. 🙂 — Suzanne

  5. Wonderful use of details to show how he remembers and misses his daughter. Beautifully portrayed and very tragic. Good news about your audio book. Congrats. Glad your fears were unfounded.

Constructive criticism appreciated

