Flash Fiction – Flying Free

100_7227-1

Image Copyright-Rich Voza

 

She stands by my side, in her starched uniform. ‘You’re flying!’ she says, and although I hear the admiration in her voice, I’m concentrating too hard to answer.

Sweat pours from my forehead and I lick my lips, tasting salt and determination.

Despite my hours of training I never quite thought I’d get here but the sense of freedom is exhilarating, and I momentarily close my eyes.

She touches my arm. Her fingertips cool on my adrenaline-fuelled skin.

‘That’s enough for today.’ And I sit down heavily in my wheelchair.

Three steps. I’ve take three steps.

Tomorrow I’ll aim for four.

 

 

I was stunned and excited this week to see The Sister on Apple’s iBooks home page featured as ‘Summer’s Biggest Reads’ in-between J K Rowling and David Walliams! It’s so surreal I’ve been floating for days, but have come back to earth to join in with this week’s Friday Fictioneers.

Flying Free was written for Friday Fictioneers. A 100 word story inspired by a photo prompt. Hop on over to host Rochelle’s blog and join in the fun. 

 

50 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – Flying Free

  1. Awesomely written story, Louise. I had no idea what the end was going to be. Super!
    AND … congratulations on being up on the list with J.K. Rowling on Apple’s iBooks. It reminds me of how Rochelle felt when her books started getting some attention. Keep up the good work.

    Five out of five happy landings!

  2. Great take and very poignant. I didn’t see the ending coming at all, thinking she was a nervous flyer as you probably intended.

  3. Great twist at the end! Very inspiring; as a Spanish learning podcast said, “Poquito a poquito la vida es más fácil/Mucho a vez la vida es difícil.”
    This means “Life is easy [when taken] little by little/Life is hard [when] much is taken.”
    Cheering the narrator on!

  4. Very well done! A neat little package of tension and resolution with a twist. It highlighted the importance of small victories, and how they really aren’t small at all to the person who earns them.

Constructive criticism appreciated

