A day in the life of….Author Sue Moorcroft

DSC_3535 crop

 

Sue Moorcroft is a super busy lady. Author of contemporary women’s fiction (currently signed to Avon) Sue’s next book is The Christmas Promise and is available to pre-order now. Sue also teaches creative writing, mentors and writes short stories and columns. I didn’t think she’d actually have time to cram anything else in to her super busy days but I was wrong. Read on to find out more.

 

A writing day sees me at my desk pretty early, generally between 7.15 and 7.30am, a cup of tea beside me. I work through my emails, fetch my second cup of tea and a bowl of porridge, then spend a while on social media. Twitter and Facebook are particularly interesting and useful to me, allowing me to connect with readers, other writers and all kinds of fascinating people.

Breakfast over, I’m ready for the real work.

DSCF9022

‘Real work’ can encompass a variety of tasks, though. Planning, research, writing a first draft, editing, talking over edits with my editor, more research, more writing, more editing … You get the picture. Writing a book is a big project and a range of skills are involved. I usually make time to read newsletters about publishing, too, as I think it’s important for me to keep some sense of what’s happening in the industry.

Then there’s all the business side – it all has to fit into my working day/week/year somewhere. I generally work 50 or 60 hours a week. I’m lucky that I seldom have a problem with motivating myself or prioritising tasks. I enjoy my work! (If you’d like to know more about why I think being an author is the best job in the world, read this post on my group blog.

I like to write in my study with nobody else in the house. This isn’t always possible and around courses or at conferences I sometimes end up writing on trains or aeroplanes, in coffee shops or in hotel bedrooms. When I am working from home I like to stop for a couple of hours to do something else: Monday Piano, Tuesday Zumba, Wednesday yoga, Thursday FitStep and Friday Zumba again. I think this programme attends to my mental and physical health.

Otherwise, I don’t stop for long for lunch (except on Wednesdays when lunch is at McDonald’s, after yoga) and drinks are taken while I work. I sigh and swear at interruptions from the phone or doorbell and the hours seem to disappear from under me.

I finish about 6pm to get a meal, and any further work, such as answering emails or messages on social media, I do from my after-dinner iPad/armchair combination. A favourite way to spend the evening is reading (unless there’s something to do with Formula 1 on the TV, as I’m an avid fan) but I’m pretty sociable and love to be out with friends, chatting over a meal. Then I just read before bed.

 

Thanks so much, Sue for sharing.

 

Award winning author Sue Moorcroft writes contemporary women’s fiction with occasionally unexpected themes. The Wedding Proposal, Dream a Little Dream and Is this Love? were all nominated for Readers’ Best Romantic Read Awards and Darcie’s Dilemma for Readers’ Best Short Romance. Love & Freedom won the Best Romantic Read Award 2011 and Dream a Little Dream was nominated for a RoNA in 2013. Sue’s a Katie Fforde Bursary Award winner, a past vice chair of the RNA and editor of its two anthologies.

 

Website: www.suemoorcroft.com.

Blog: https://suemoorcroft.wordpress.com/

Facebookhttps://www.facebook.com/sue.moorcroft.3

Facebook author page: https://www.facebook.com/SueMoorcroftAuthor

Twitter @suemoorcroft

Google+: google.com/+Suemoorcroftauthor

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/suemoorcroft

Instagram: suemoorcroftauthor

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/862993.Sue_Moorcroft

Take Five Authors: https://takefiveauthors.wordpress.com

 

 

 

Constructive criticism appreciated

