Waiting for the first reviews…

IMG_7094

 

This week ‘The Sister’ has been sent to book bloggers. It sounds ridiculous but it is only now, three months before publication, it has properly dawned on me that my book will be seen; by people I don’t know. As a new author releasing a debut I’m both exhilarated and terrified to read any reviews.

I’ve always been a private writer. Very few people have read the story of Grace and after months and months of getting to know this complex character it’s a little daunting to cast her out into the world and wonder how she might be received. It’s a bit like sending your child to school for the first time and hoping that someone likes them. My story is a psychological thriller, but anyone who follows the flash fiction on my blog knows I am an emotional writer, so the story has a real heart too.

Despite my trepidation, I can’t wait to hear from readers. This whole process has been hugely exciting and I feel so privileged to be in this position. I’ve learned such a lot and have met so many lovely people – I’m really looking forward to this next stage.

 

 

Publication date of The Sister is 7th July 2016 by Bookouture. Available as an e-book, paperback and audio book. The digital version is available to preorder now at a very special price from Amazon UK or Amazon US.

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Waiting for the first reviews…

  1. It is scary, Louise, and over time you’ll probably get some bad reviews. That’s really just a symptom of the fact that you can’t please all of the people all of the time. Unfortunately, my favourite review has disappeared, but the gist of it was that my book was terrible – and it was still terrible when they read it the second time…

    So look for the humour in the bad ones, and bask in the glow when you read the good ones

  2. I was lucky to receive a copy of this book from Netgalley.
    Grace hasn’t been the same since the death of her best friend Charlie. She is haunted by Charlie’s words, the last time she saw her, and in a bid for answers, opens an old memory box of Charlie’s. It soon becomes clear there was a lot she didn’t know about her best friend.

    From the first page the book grabbed me. The storyline delivered twists and turns, once you thought you know what was going to happen boom! Along came another twist.
    You were invited to join a journey with Grace finding out the secrets that have been happening around her for years.
    I would highly recommend this book to others and look forward very much to the Authors next book.
    Note to Author WOW what a fab great book.

Constructive criticism appreciated

