Flash Fiction – Black and White

 

kent-b

Photo courtesy of Kent Bonham

 

I was absolutely overwhelmed with the amount of support I received during the cover reveal of The Sister. Thank you so much everyone who liked, commented and shared. I really appreciate it. 

 

I’ve been tied to this bed before, but not like this. Not with pain throbbing behind my temples and blood trickling down my forehead.

I prise my eyelids open. A shape shifts and blurs in my vision.

Mark.

‘You’re awake.’ He snaps on gloves. ‘You shouldn’t have betrayed me, Ruth.’

I want to tell him I didn’t but the words stick in my throat. I can’t tell him who did. I just can’t.

His hands snake around my neck. He squeezes his fingers and I want to tell him everything, but it’s too late.

I see black.

White.

Brilliant, brilliant light.

 

Written for Friday Fictioneers. A 100 word story inspired by a photo prompt. Hop over to host Rochelle’s blog and read the other entries here

57 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – Black and White

  1. Wow. This was such a dark and haunting story. You told it so well! There’s only a minor typo towards the end: “but the word stick in my throat.” Other than that, fantastic work!

  2. Creepy, creepy, creepy! Nice work. Oh, and congratulations, Louise, on the Big Reveal and your book. I know how hard you must have worked, but the payoff will be soon. Well done!

  3. Brilliant, Brilliant light- well that’s brilliant 🙂 congrats on your book, love the cover and this story is equally haunting.

  4. Great tension. Mark’s very scary. Snapping on a pair of gloves – that’s a great detail that shows him as cool and calculating. Terrific. Congratulations on the book cover. I shall be ordering my Amazon copy.

  5. Oooooh, there is alot of backstory here we can only guess at. Who really betrayed Mark? Why is Ruth protecting them? Should they be protected? I really enjpyed this, especially Ruth’s last-breath decision to tell, but which comes too late. Very nice touch

Constructive criticism appreciated

