Flash Fiction – Role Play

 

mg-buildings

Photo courtesy of Marie Gail Stratford

 

The hotel bar thrummed with the pop of champagne and the chink of glasses. I slid onto an empty stool. The man next to me rolled the sleeves up on his shirt, his arms were tanned and although I noticed the faint white strip where his wedding ring should be, I didn’t mention it when he introduced himself.

‘Jack.’

A frisson of excitement ran through me.

‘Lucy.’

Our eyes locked. Electricity crackled.

Soon we were in the lift, pulling at clothes, panting hard.

My phone rang. The babysitter.

‘Sorry.’ I said. ‘Maybe next year?’

‘Happy anniversary’ he muttered, slipping his ring back on. ‘Let’s go home.’

 

Written for Friday Fictioneers. A 100 word story inspired by a photo prompt. Hop over to host Rochelle’s blog and read the other entries here.

 

 

 

53 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – Role Play

  1. Hahahahahaha!!!! Now THAT’S a great story, Louise! I like those words, too — “thrummed.” Awesome! The ending makes me wonder how many that babysitter is watching, you know?

    This story gets five out of five floors. 😀

Constructive criticism appreciated

