Flash Fiction – Seeking Silence

hh-spinet

Photo courtesy of Jan W. Fields

 

It’s been five days since I buried you. A thin film of dust covers the piano I’ve inherited with your estate. Moonlight Sonata slices through my mind.

Shut up. Shut up. Shut up.

I smash the axe down. Wood splinters and keys squeal. Still, I hear music.

The tyres of the Jag screech as I speed from the mansion. Away from your memory. But I still hear you playing.

Please stop. I didn’t mean to hurt you.

It builds.

I’m sorry.

ย The crescendo.

My foot squeezes the accelerator as I approach the cliff, and I’m flying, falling, screaming.

But still the music plays.

 

 

Written for Friday Fictioneers. A 100 word story inspired by a photo prompt. Pop over to host Rochelle’s blog and read the other entries here.ย 

66 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – Seeking Silence

  1. Dear Louise,

    Well now, that should stop the music…maybe. Perhaps that’s her eternal reward…music forever. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I agree with Dan. A lot of energy packed into that story. Well done as always.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  2. I can see this woman going into town to have a cup of tea at a cafe to calm her nerves… telling herself it’s just memorie, no need to be scared. When she walks back into the music room she finds the harpsichord in perfect working order once again.

  3. Fabulous tension leading to a great, well, crescendo, at the end. I especially liked the repeated shut up’s – so real. And yes, the one thing you can never escape is what’s inside your own head. Sinister.

  4. Wow, what a story. I love how the music, and the feelings, race along with the Jag… or the Jag with the music… or all of it with the feelings. Very powerful, great action.

  5. Sad story, whether it was an accident or intentional, there is enough guilt there to stop her ever moving on. I like the pace of the story, building to the finale that seems to have been inevitable, well done.

Constructive criticism appreciated

