Flash Fiction – Help!

amy-reese

Photo courtesy of Amy Reese.

 

The stench in the van is unbearable; sweat, diesel, fear. It’s dark in the back and I strain my ears – a clock chimes eight – where are we?

My body shakes as we dip in and out of potholes. Cold metal presses against my spine and as we take a hard left, my teeth clamp together and blood pours from my tongue. It takes every ounce of self-control not to cry. I don’t want to make him angry.

The van judders and slows. Doors swing open and I’m blinking in the sunlight.

My first day as a builder’s mate. I want to go back to school.

 

 

Written for Friday Fictioneers. A 100 word story inspired by a photo prompt. Pop over to Rochelle’s blog and read the other entries.

 

 

47 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – Help!

  1. I love your choice of strong words like stench. I was imagining worse so I’m almost pleased it was his first day at work … 🙂

  2. Loved the first three paragraphs. Not sure about the ending. You could see we were probably heading for a misdirection. It’s a fun twist but the description leading up to it was the star of the piece.

Constructive criticism appreciated

