Flash Fiction – Flying High

.melanie-greenwood

Photo courtesy of Melanie Greenwood.

 

‘Juliet! Over here!’

I turn my upper body towards the camera – shoulders back, stomach in – and smoulder into the lens.

‘Juliet, how does it feel to be the highest paid model in the world?’

Before I can answer a figure pushes to the front of the crowd.

‘Jane. Jane!’ Mum?

My smile locks. And then I’m back there. Shabby trainers pounding the pavement as I ran towards our cramped bedsit, playground taunts ringing in my ears. ‘Plain Jane.’

I hitch my composure back into place; shake my head. ‘I’m Juliet.’ I move towards the limo.

I’ll never be Jane again.

 

Written for Friday Fictioneers. A 100 words story inspired by a photo prompt. Read the other entries here

54 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – Flying High

  1. Greetings, Louise!
    This resonated with me on a very personal level. Sometimes the bonds that are supposed to be important are damaging and a hurdle instead. Thanks for reading my story and sharing yours!

  2. Well written, Louise, with great description. I agree that it’s one thing to improve ourselves, but another to cut cords with our family, especially our mother if she’s done nothing wrong. One day if she has children of her own she may have deep regret for being so selfish, especially if she looks in the mirror and sees her mother. It happens. —- Suzanne

Constructive criticism appreciated

