Flash Fiction – Framed

copyright-scott-l-vannatter

Picture courtesy of Scott L. Vannatter

 

The kitchen window is ajar and I leap inside. My feet plunge into something soft and hot. I hop from paw to paw until my pads stop burning and I sit and lick them clean, staring at the pie I’d landed in. Chicken. Mmmm. I pick out the meat, a little salty but it fills a gap, and nudge the dish with my nose until it clatters onto the floor. I’ll share with blame the mutt. He bounds over, ridiculous ears flapping and slurps up the gravy.

Footsteps approach. I dart behind the bin – I am a ninja.

‘REX!’

Humans – nearly as stupid as dogs.

 

A light-hearted entry this week for Friday Fictioneers. A 100 word story inspired by a photo prompt. Read the other entries here. 

 

28 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – Framed

  1. Thanks for the pre-Christmas chuckle. Tricky to do a POV from inside the head of an animal. I always worry about the voice being too human. However, who knows what a cat is really thinking, or how they think. Merry Christmas, Louise.

Constructive criticism appreciated

