Flash Fiction – The Memory Garden

kitchen-window

Photo courtesy of Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

 

Sun slices through the kitchen window and tiny rainbows hover inside lemon-scented soap-suds. I slosh water over the pans – there aren’t many – I’m still not used to cooking for one.

The tyre swings from the apple tree. Jack hung it there when the girls were small. There’s the roses we planted when our first cat, Smoky, was run over.

Tears plop into the washing-up bowl and I wipe my nose on my sleeve.

In the flower bed, under the daffodils, lies Jack. Such a cliché burying him in the garden; such a cliché catching him in bed with his secretary.

At least the flowers are blooming.

 

Written for Friday Fictioneers. A 100 word story inspired by a photo prompt. Read the other entries here

 

 

 

75 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – The Memory Garden

  1. You know it’s good when suddenly you realise you’re laughing, crying, angry etc without warning. I read this and spontaneously burst out laughing. Wicked sense of humour, great piece.

  2. You know it’s good when you catch yourself laughing, crying, angry etc without warning. I suddenly burst out laughing. Wicked sense of humour, great piece.

  3. Not a big fan of characters (usually female) murdering troublesome partners in FF stories. Mainly because after a couple of years I think I’ve probably seen and read most variations on the theme….lol. However, I always like your writing and I still enjoyed the lead up. See you next week.

  4. A wicked twist. I loved it! Men and their secretaries! I’m glad my husband thinks he can do his work quicker than a secretary and doesn’t want to employ one. Not that I’d have the energy to dig a hole that big!

  5. Wow, Louise. She buried him in the yard with the cat. I bet she didn’t cry as much for him as for the cat. Stupid of him to act that way right in their home. I guess he found that out a bit late. I wonder if his secretary is buried out there too. Well done. 😀 — Suzanne

Constructive criticism appreciated

