Flash Fiction – Puppet

luther-siler

Photo – Luther Siler

 

‘I hate you, Dad.’

‘I needed a job, Ella.’

‘There are loads of other jobs.’

‘There aren’t. And it’s Christmas. We need the money.’

‘I don’t care about Christmas. I care about the poor animals being tortured.’

‘They’re not tortured. They’re helping us find cures. They’re very well looked after.’

‘How could you hurt them?’

‘I don’t. I’m just security.’

‘Just a puppet. Don’t you have any morals?’

I think of the plan. The welfare group will arrive at midnight. I’ll leave the door unlocked. I wish I could tell her, but it’s better she doesn’t know. Safer.

‘I’m sorry.’ I whisper as she turns away.

 

Written for Friday Fictioneers – a 100 word story inspired by a photo prompt. Read the other entries here

 

45 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – Puppet

Constructive criticism appreciated

