Flash Fiction – Regret

Image – Roger Bultot

 

Every cell in my body screams at me to carry on walking, but my feet are rooted to the spot, and I can’t wrench my eyes away from the light pouring from the cottage. Unbidden, my hand darts to the latch and I curl my fingers around the cold metal.

 

The smell of roast beef dances around my nostrils and I push the gate open and crunch down the path I long ago gave up any right to walk upon.

 

I crouch before the window and peer at the picture perfect family sitting around the table and wonder if they miss me at all.

 

Written for Friday Fictioneers – a 100 word story inspired by a photo prompt. Read the other entries here.

45 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – Regret

  1. This has a great feel of winter just by the contrast between the lights in the house, the smell of the beef and the cold of the latch. The person is clearly on the outside and out in the cold. Great atmosphere and feeling, in just a few words.

  2. I liked the way you wove his/her longing to be a part of what was going on inside.
    It gave me the feeling of a lonely Christmas for the character. Perhaps, a family falling out.
    I liked you story very much even though it is sad.
    Isadora 😎

  3. Wonderful and haunting. I especially love the aroma in the poem….it adds to the wondering and gives a specific detail that appeals to one of our senses so often overlooked.
    Very much enjoyed this one! Happy Friday fellow writer πŸ™‚

Constructive criticism appreciated

