Flash Fiction – Tired

132-11-november-29th-2015

Photo – Al Forbes

 

A brisk walk will do you good

But I’m so tired – my legs feel like they’re made of lead.

 

Some fresh air will make you feel better

 My chest is so tight it’s an effort to breathe.

 

Count your blessings

Count? My mind is hazy. I cannot concentrate on the simplest of tasks.

 

Happiness is a choice

Do you really think I would choose to feel like this?

 

Snap out of it

Snap? I have slept for twelve hours but still don’t have the energy to move.

 

A good meal will cheer you up

I told you I cannot eat. My throat is constricted, my stomach full of swirling emotions.

 

Turn that frown upside down

I try. I really do, but my skin feels tight and it’s hard to make my muscles move.

 

If you can’t be bothered to help yourself

I am screaming for help, can’t you hear me? But the room is silent and you turn away.

 

Sunday Photo Fiction – A story inspired by a photo prompt. Read the other entires here.

 

19 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – Tired

  1. Depression is a vile wretch. Like most afflictions, it is poorly understood by those who don’t suffer it. The person who tells an alcoholic to drink less, for example. Very well-written and poignant.

  2. Many onlookers do not see the suffering of the person if they do not look ‘ill’. Very good piece demonstrating the advice that people tend to give… Like happiness is a choice 🙂 very well written

Constructive criticism appreciated

