Flash Fiction – Run!

ce-grate

Photo courtesy of C.E. Ayr

 

My heart pounds in my ears but I can still hear his footsteps behind me. The smell of fried onions hangs in the night air, even though the burger van has long gone. The streets are deserted. What does he want? Alcohol churns in my stomach and I stumble, kick off my heels, and run. He’s getting closer.

My bare feet slap against the wet pavement. I don’t see the broken glass but the shards slice into my flesh. I fall. Scream. There’s a hand on my shoulder. Hot breath against my neck.

‘Miss? You left your purse in the club.’

 

Written for Friday Fictioneers. A 100 word story inspired by a photo prompt. Read the other entries here

 

80 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – Run!

  1. I read another story before yours which was exactly the same plot/twist but that story did not drag me to the pavement where the “smell of fried onions hung in the air”. Reading a similar story before yet coming out with a wow on this – that’s the highest compliment I can make 🙂

  2. I’ve read a few of these FF stories where men are chasing women to give them back either their shoe or (in your case) a purse. But your story is different in the other senses you engage–smell, touch. Excellent!

  3. The sounds and smells were very evocative in this piece. I loved the use of the onions and the burger can to sum up the after-club atmosphere. And what a great twist at the end – a nice upbeat change to many dark tales this week (mine included!)

Constructive criticism appreciated

