Flash Fiction – Missing

carousel-ted-strutz

 

It’s not fair.’ Millie stands, hands on hips, bottom lip out, the way she did when she was 6.

‘You’re not going.’

Footsteps thunder up the stairs and I count the seconds before music thuds through the house. I rotate my shoulders, trying to dislodge the knots.

‘She’s growing up,’ My ultra observant husband says. ‘You’ve got to give her some freedom.’

I hesitate outside Millie’s door, hand poised to knock, but instead continue to my room. Yellowing newspapers spill from the box as I open the lid. Tears torrent as I reread the reports about the sister Millie will never know.

It’s not fair.

 

 

Written for Friday Fictioneers. A 100 word story inspired by a photo prompt. Check out the other fabulous entries here.

39 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – Missing

  1. Powerful story. Just how does one cope with that?
    There is a whiff of danger about funfairs and circuses – the here today and gone tomorrow-ness of them. And they are associated with children going missing, rightly or wrongly. It’s our prejudices about gypsies and fairies etc and the stories the old people would tell to frighten their children. Like you have just done.

    • Ah, I saw the photo and thought of the the phrase ‘it’s not fair,’ and the story tumbled out. I didn’t think of any connection between fairgrounds and missing children. Thanks for reading Patrick.

  2. Oh, nicely done. When I first moved t Bellingham a young woman “disappeared” while jogging ~ only her coat was found. Nothing of her ever surfaced. Later I met the family through the office where I worked. They were forever altered by the event. You captured that feeling.

  3. So sad, Louise. It would be so hard for a mom to let go and not be protective of her daughter. I like how you layered the story with “It’s not fair.” This one packed an emotional punch. Well done.

  4. I echo everyone’s comment on the powerful punch of this one. I can so relate to the mother’s fear. I think she should be honest with her daughter, though…

Constructive criticism appreciated

