Flash Fiction – Dare to be different

mouse-on-the-prowl

 

There’s the beeping of a horn. I totter over to the bedroom window and wave.

I check out my reflection. My little black dress should blend in with all the other clubbers, but is that what I want? My heart aches with the need to be true to myself, but I’m scared.

I rummage through my wardrobe and choose a multi-coloured dress I designed myself. Zigzags weave together, the pattern as intricate as my emotions.

There’s a knock on the door. A shout.

‘Paul, are you ready?’

I run my palm over my chin checking for stubble and take a deep breath.

I’m ready.

 

Written for Friday Fictioneers. A 100 word story inspired by a photo prompt. Read the other entries here.

 

 

 

 

 

46 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – Dare to be different

  1. I was glad when I saw the woman taking a risk with her dress and a little apprehensive about how her date would react and then I see it is not a woman. Really good response to the prompt.

Constructive criticism appreciated

