Flash fiction – Pants on fire 

  

My husband was a liar.

He said I was beautiful when I had blotchy morning skin and tangled bed hair.

He promised me my little black dress still looked amazing when I could no longer zip it properly, for fear of splitting the seams.

He told me he was going fishing for the weekend, ‘with the boys,’ – said he’d miss me – as he slipped aftershave and condoms into the pocket of his case.

He assured me the casserole was scrumptious, when I knew it must taste bitter.

He gasped his throat was closing, that he couldn’t breathe properly.

Finally, he told the truth.

Written for Friday Fictioneers. A 100 word story inspired by a photo prompt. Read the other entries here

72 thoughts on “Flash fiction – Pants on fire 

  1. Oh what a great punch in the end. I love it, although I’m a bit sorry for the charmer. Being married to one would not be nice, though, and his true words finally lacked the charm.

  2. Should I have laughed? I laughed. Nicely done, very effective use of setting up expectations (the ‘good lies’) then the bad lie, then that final, fatal lie subverting our expectations… great stuff.

  3. Ah, it’s great to wake up to a laugh in the morning. Good thing I’m the cook in the family! Thanks for this perfectly told tale. You’ve given the women who commented ideas, and the men who commented something to think about!

Constructive criticism appreciated

