Flash Fiction – Boomerang

claire-fuller-9

 

Our foreheads touch at the airport as we vow this is more than a holiday romance. We’ll Skype, Instagram, Facebook. It will be almost as if we’re still together. Almost.

You take your suitcase, and my heart, and fly thousands of miles home.

I tag you in photos, change my relationship status and wait interminably for your promised call. The phone is silent and I’m broken.

I’ll never get over you.

The sand is hot beneath my feet as I stare out into the ocean where we once swam. There’s a boy surfing, tousled and tanned, and I raise my hand and smile.

Life goes on.

 

 

Written for Friday Fictioneers. A 100 word sorry inspired by a photo prompt. Read the other entries here.

 

The first thing that came to mind when I saw this week’s photo was a boomerang (I am just out of hospital and still medicated)! I thought of giving your love to someone to have it boomeranged back to you. The anguish when you think you’ll never love again, and then you see someone……..

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – Boomerang

  1. Welcome back and wishing you all the best.
    Ah, holiday romances. I remember it well. With me, it was the letter that never came from that sheep farmer on Dartmoor! Plenty more fish in the sea or, rather, tousled boy surfers! Well written.

      • Very bleak in the winter, though. At least if we’d got together, we’d have plenty of excuses to keep each other warm! Our most romantic day of the holiday, was meeting at 6.30 am to drive some sheep to Widecombe Fair. Once there, we indulged in such delights as pillow-fights while perched on iron bars and cheese races.

Constructive criticism appreciated

