Flash Fiction – The Secret

frost-on-a-stump-sandra-crook

 

‘I know what you did.’

The words spring out from the page, my legs instantly weaken.

‘I want £10,000.’

I sit heavily, winded. Black dots dance before my eyes. I grip the letter so tightly my knuckles turn bone white. Shivering, despite the radiators blasting out heat, I wrap my cardigan around myself and close my eyes.

I can see the colourless clearing, smell the fern, hear the sound of the shovel penetrating the earth.

‘How can you live with yourself?’

I can’t. I stumble up wooden stairs and pull sleeping tablets from the bathroom cabinet.

I am sorry.

 

To find out who wrote the letter read The Secret (Part II).

Written for Friday Fictioneers. A 100 word story inspired by a photo prompt. Read the other entries here

48 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – The Secret

  1. Pingback: Flash Fiction – The Secret (Part II) | fabricating fiction

  2. You told just enough, leaving us to feel the fear and despair of the narrator. I have to confess that if I got a letter of that sort, I’d have to wondered what I could have done worth paying any amount of money to hide. 🙂 Thank goodness for that!

    janet

  3. Dear Louise,

    To sleep, perchance to dream….

    This was a wonderfully written story that stands alone yet begs for enlargement and examination. Very well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  4. Can’t help but put yourself in her shoes and feel what she’s feeling. Excellent! Like others have said, “hear the sound of the shovel penetrating the earth,” pretty much confirms what was done to cause her so much guilt.

  5. I liked the sequel, too, but I very much liked this as a standalone. It makes the reader wonder what the deed was. Murder, burying a corpse, a dark secret, great food for the readers’ imagination.

  6. Very intriguing. I imagined all sorts of mayhem. Reading Part II, I felt bad about believing her to be a murderer. I wanted to grab the pill bottle away from her!

Constructive criticism appreciated

