Flash Fiction – What is it good for?

IMG_0151

I plug the wound with my fingers to staunch the flow of blood that pools and darkens the earth.

Your skin is pale, lips tinged blue. Sweat beads upon your forehead.

Nausea sloshes around inside me and I take a deep breath to quash my panic.

A bullet whizzes past my ear, grazing my skin. I shield your body with mine and strain for the sound of a helicopter.

Your lungs rattle once, twice and then you are still. Silent.

I sob into your chest until your uniform is sodden.

I wanted peace. I am in pieces.

God help me.

Written for Friday Fictioneers. A 100 word story inspired by a photo prompt. Read the other entries here.

42 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – What is it good for?

  1. This is so jaw-droppingly (!!) good that I feel I can be picky, picky… I just want a different verb instead of “sloshes.” Everything else is so spot-on. “…strain for the sound of a helicopter…” is where the soul of this story lies for me.

  2. Dear Louise, Such a moving story and sad! “Wanting peace and falling to pieces.” This is a sensational line! I’m so impressed with your writing ability! Good job – yet hopeless end! Nan 🙂

Constructive criticism appreciated

