Flash Fiction – The little things

begin-the-route

 

I wanted to thank everyone who commented and sent messages after my last post. It is very much appreciated. My creativity appears to have disappeared and it has been a real struggle to pull together a 100 words, but I have tried! Thanks for your support.

 

‘Who wants to begin?’ she asks.

I glance at you, slumped in your chair, gaze fixed on the floor. You never wanted couples therapy.

My jaw clenches. My spine straightens.

‘He forgot our anniversary again.’

The words pour out in a flood of bitterness and resentment.

‘He sounds like a terrible husband.’

Her words jar me. We are paying her to listen, not to judge.

‘He has some good points.’

‘What are they?’

And so I tell her about the little things.

And as I tell her, I remember.

And I love you.

I shift my chair towards yours and reach out my hand. Is it too late?

 

Written for Friday Fictioneers. A 100 word story inspired by a photo prompt. Read the other entries here.

36 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – The little things

  1. Dear Louise,

    What a wonderful story (and therapist). I think her reflective listening technique did the trick, as did your imagining and writing of this tale. Well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  2. Dear Louise,

    It’s so easy to focus on those daily annoyances, isn’t it? Beautifully written with a message that goes straight to the heart. Wiping my tears and telling you how much I enjoyed this.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  3. I have to say that were I any less the manly man ( 😉 )that I am this story would have brought a tear to my eye. Your story was a slice of something out of my life only without the happy/hopeful ending. Enough of that! I loved the way you ended this story on an upbeat and positive note and while you may think you’re struggling to put 100 words together, that wasn’t apparent in this tender story.

Constructive criticism appreciated

