Flash Fiction – Stolen

hollywood-crowd

The heat was oppressive. Too hot to dig but I needed to move my stash. My body felt leaden as I retraced seven steps to the right of the tree and three forwards. I glanced around. No-one was watching. I dug.

The hole was empty. My head felt muggy. I shook it as if I could dislodge the confusion. Where had it gone?

I closed my eyes, took a deep breath and remembered. It was seven steps left. I found the spot. My heart thudded as I dug. The bone was still there. I wagged my tail and drooled.

 

Written for Friday Fictioneers. A 100 word story inspired by a photo prompt. Read the other entries here.

46 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – Stolen

  1. Lol. This reeled me in. Good one.

    As a totally personal crit I’d leave out “I glanced furtively around”. Feels like a bit of a cliche and in truth you don’t really need it – a case of less is more for me πŸ™‚

  2. LOL, did he find it “Unda da big W?” I couldn’t help but think of that old movie when I read this. What a clever doggy to be able to count! Well hooked, Louise πŸ™‚

  3. Dear Louise,

    I’m drooling and wagging my tail. Very clever. You held me on your leash from beginning to end. Few can pull off such a story and you’ve done it well. Applause.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

Constructive criticism appreciated

