Flash Fiction – The scent of happiness

still-life-with-doug

‘Grandad, you smell funny.’

‘It’s because I’m sad.’

‘Mum says it’s because you drink too much.’ I thought of all the empty bottles in my recycling tub and my face flamed.

Four year old Ben surveyed me, ‘What does happiness smell like then?’

I closed my eyes and inhaled. ‘Like vanilla, like cake.’

‘Like Grandma used to make?’

I swallowed hard, ’Just like Grandma used to make.’

‘I miss Grandma.’ He wrapped his pudgy arms around my legs.

‘Me too.’ I unscrewed the top of the nearest bottle and poured the contents down the sink.

I smiled at Ben. ‘Fancy trying some baking?’

Written for Friday Fictioneers. A 100 word story inspired by a photo prompt. Check out all the other entries here

65 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – The scent of happiness

  1. Dear Louise,

    This story had me in tears by word one-hundred. If that isn’t the best comment you get, then I’ll eat my hat…or maybe some cake. Beautiful.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  2. That brought a lump to MY throat, Louise! (carrying over from your comment to my story). That was powerfully optimistic! Excellent story!

    Greetings from Greece!

    Maria (MM Jaye)

  3. Glad to see that the uncapping was to pour the alcohol out and move on. I hope it sticks. Ben needs an involved grandparent in his life. Nice story.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

  4. I’m really impressed by how you succeeded in avoiding having this turn out cutesy, if you see what I mean (personally, I tend to take the first reference to grandchildren as a warning sign that I may not make it to the end of 100 words) – instead the story was naturalistic and tender.

Constructive criticism appreciated

