The naive novelist?

persistence

I have always had an obsession with books, but aside from a couple of flash fiction pieces I wrote several years ago, I had never tried to write. I guess I never believed that I could. Last April I wanted to try, I set up this blog and here I am.

Throughout the last few weeks I have regularly been posting short stories and have completely fallen in love with the writing process, to be able to immerse myself in characters and plots of my own making has been a total joy.

With encouragement from the lovely Louise Walters, author of the fabulous Mrs Sinclair’s Suitcase,Ā I decided to try to write a novel.

When I began, back in May, I found it unimaginable that I may be able to write 1000 words, ten times more than my longest story, and yet, several weeks on, I have broken the 40,000 barrier.

Eager to learn the craft, I have been reading many blogs and articles on novel writing. I have read page after page telling me that first novels are always terrible, that I need to write three books before I have one that’s readable, that I will most probably give up before I reach the end, that I…… no, actually that’s when I stopped reading.

I don’t want to dampen my enthusiasm so I choose to believe that maybe, just maybe, with handwork and passion I can write something that I can be proud of, and if I can’t, then I will have had a blast trying.

Fabricating Fiction or The Naive Novelist? Time will tell.

22 thoughts on “The naive novelist?

  1. Well, as a recently published author of two books, I encourage you to keep going. Block your mind and ears to discouragements in whatever form. You never know when you hit the best sellers list šŸ™‚

  2. Writing a novel can be tedious, that is true, but it is all about the attitude you have for your book. You seem to have the right take on it. Don’t let the opinion and experiences of others influence your own journey, that might cause an unexpected turn.

    I’m glad that you’re taking this adventure, because it certainly is a feeling unlike anything I have ever felt before. Best of luck to you and your novel.

  3. Congratulations Louise, 40,000 words is nothing to sneeze at (although I’m sure you’ve sneezed a few times while writing them) That’s only 10,000 words short of a Nano accomplishment. The one person you should never, EVER, listen to when they tell you that you can’t write is you, because she can be very, very negative. I’ve read your fiction, and you are very good at fabricating it šŸ™‚

  4. Say “nay” to the naysayers. Be the “Little Engine That Could” šŸ™‚ You seem to have the right attitude to writing and very importantly, you love writing!
    Have fun with your novel and good luck!

  5. Welcome to the asylum! You don’t have to be mad to write a novel, but if definitely helps …
    Well done on the first 40,000 words. It’s a lot of work but you’ve obviously well and truly caught the bug now. As long as you have the sense to seek constructive criticism, the humility and wisdom to respond to it, and the willingness to put yet more dozens of hours into the inevitable drafting and re-drafting, then you will produce something you can be proud of. First novels aren’t necessarily terrible – any more than a tenth novel will inevitably be brilliant – but both depend on what you put into them. Of course experience does help a lot, but there’s only one way to get that …

  6. If you love it, you can do it. I surprised the hell out of myself the first time I wrote 50K cohesive words – I’m well into my fifth novel now and I couldn’t live without it. And you can ignore those who say your first novel is going to suck. Yes, mine could use a LOT of grammar editing, but I’m just as happy with the basis of it now as I was when I first wrote it.
    My advice is GO FOR IT!! You’re a great writer already, Louise. Something longer than what I’ve read here can only be that much greater, can’t it? šŸ˜€

  7. I have written six complete novels so far. The first one was fun but too embarrassingly awful to let anyone read. The first one I published I found a worthless print-on-demand publisher to print without charging me. I could have sent them laundry lists and they would’ve published it in book form. I was embarrassed by that result as well, but it made me determined to do better. The fourth book I wrote was the first one I felt proud of. It won a couple of awards from the publisher. Book number five, the best thing I have ever written, was submitted to a Chanticleer Reviews contest and it made it all the way to the final round before being beat out. So, that one is being published by a very good Indie publisher at the moment. Last week I finished number six, crossing the 80,000 word mark for the first time. I am not bragging. It has been a roller-coaster ride with as many downs as ups. Steeper, scarier downs than ups. But it sounds like you are hooked by the same genii (or possibly efreeti) that I am. It is magical. Keep going. Good luck. And may God bless.

Constructive criticism appreciated

