Flash Fiction – Ugly

IMG_0180.JPG

I glimpse my reflection in the shop window and recoil wide eyed from the grotesque image.

My skin is pig pink, pitted and shiny, my bulbous nose overhangs thin lips and don’t get me started on my body.

‘You have a distorted view of yourself, therapy will help,’ you say.

One by one you strip away my layers, unleash my insecurities until they are free to fly away. You wrap your arms around me as we stare at my reflection. ‘See what I see,’ you beg, ‘You’re exquisite.’

A pool of beauty stifled for so long bubbles to the surface. I shine. I am beautiful.

Written for Friday Fictioneers – a 100 word story inspired by a photo prompt.

47 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – Ugly

  1. I see what I feel. When I feel bad, I see ugly in the mirror. When I feel good, I see something altogether not ugly. Well done. I really like this one.

  2. FF, Lovely piece. If more young people could see the before and after photos of famous actors, models, etc., they’d realize that these images are made to look good, and the people are professionally made up. These people are just like us. If a person’s image of themselves is too distorted, they need help to see things differently. Well written. πŸ™‚ —Susan

  3. Dear Louise,

    There’s a classic Twilight Zone called The Eye of the Beholder that beautifully illustrates the title. You can find the original 60’s episode or the remake online. I personally prefer the former.

    I enjoyed your take and your writing. Our Thoreau quote applies here, too. “It’s not what you’re looking at that counts, it’s what you see.” Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  4. Wonderful and sensitive how you unpeeled the layers in this. I loved the last line – A pool of beauty stifled for so long bubbles to the surface –

Constructive criticism appreciated

