Friday Fictioneers – Set meal for one

chopsticks

 

‘The usual?’

‘Yep. Set meal for one. Thanks Connor’.

I had been single for months. The way Simon betrayed me had put me off relationships. Even if it hadn’t, where would I meet a new man?

 

I ate my meal and broke open my fortune cookie.

‘I think you’re beautiful. How about a set meal for two, Saturday, 8.00 pm?’

Yes!

 

I put the finishing touches to my make-up. I thought about gorgeous Connor but then the image of the toothless old chef flashed through my mind. Shit. Which one had sent it?

Best stay in and order pizza.

 

Written for Friday Fictioneers. A 100 word story inspired by a photo prompt.

62 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Set meal for one

  1. Oh, why did she play it safe? If only she’d plunged in, she could have at least gotten a nice meal out of it, and perhaps, made a friend.
    Ah … mysterious are the workings of humans.

  2. Pingback: The fortune cookie | Words

  3. I think I probably would have done the same thing and stayed in for pizza (though I doubt I would have said yes to begin with).

  4. Ahhh, such a dilemma. If it was a handwritten note, maybe she could compare it with the two guys at the restaurant. Sneaky is best after all 😀 Nice take on the prompt my friend.

  5. Awww… I hope she takes a chance and finds out who’s on the other end of the note. Nothing ventured, right? Of course pizza is good…

Constructive criticism appreciated

