Flash Fiction – Tree

20140626-081930-29970104.jpg

Grant slaps me and my skin cries out. Again and again his palm connects with my soft flesh as I try to escape within my mind. I am lying on a beach. My skin is burning from the sun.

Snot drips onto my damp with tears pillow. Will this ever end?

‘Tree,’ I cry out, unable to bear it any longer. Grant scoops me into his arms. ‘Oh baby, I didn’t hurt you did I?’

‘It’s not as much fun as it sounded in the book,’ I snivel. ‘Lets have a cuddle instead.’

Written for Friday Fictioneers. A 100 word story based on a photo prompt.

30 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – Tree

  1. I was about to make a “Shades of Grey” comment but I see Sandra beat me to it πŸ™‚ I like the phrase “my skin cries out”.
    Ah well, she tried it, didn’t like it, move on πŸ™‚

  2. I’m another person who hasn’t read it and won’t be, so you’re not alone. πŸ™‚ I do love the word “snivel” but as for the rest, I’ll pass. (If this is light-hearted, I may be glad I missed last week’s story!!)

    janet

  3. Very interesting story – I don’t know if it’s fun, but S & M stuff never appealed to me – but to each their own. Live and let live! You wrote a good story, though! Nan πŸ™‚

  4. Now if that was Anastasia Steele’s reaction we might have had a 50 shades of boredom instead πŸ™‚
    I think it’s great to have a different take on the prompt.

  5. Good and well-written story. I could never understand liking to suffer pain. I’ve suffered a lot of pain and I never enjoyed a bit of it. Perhaps people who like S & M have never suffered much involuntary pain. If anyone likes pain, they’ll be thrilled to get old. πŸ™‚ —Susan

Constructive criticism appreciated

